top of page
The Happiness Project : Blog2

coming out christian

would you still love me?

if i never changed?

if our God never told me,

i wasn't supposed to be this way?


would you still love me?

if it was right in front of your face?

if i brought a girl to church?

if i asked her to stay?


i hope you don't think,

that someday i'll change-

that God will reach down,

that He will re-arrange

all of the pieces that make me me-

forming me into who you think

i'm supposed to be.


would you still love me?

if i stayed gay?

if i never heard God ask me,

to change my ways?


so i guess the question is-

do you expect me to change?

do you think i'm broken?

or do you think i was born this way?

do you think its a challenge?

do you think its a gift?

or do you think it's just something-

that we have to deal with?


are you praying everyday-

for the gay to go away?

do you see this all as a sign

that i've actually strayed?

do you think i'm only meant-

to be with a man?

are you hoping God will cure me?

these are the thoughts i can't stand.

because i'll listen to God

before i listen to you,

and he's never given any indication

that i'm not perfect through and through.


i'm scared that in the coming,

weeks, months and years

something will finally become clear

because i don't think that im broken

i know that im whole

but the hurt of rejection

from a family i hold close-


so im asking you now

do you think that he'll change me?

do you think that i am a miracle

just in the making?

are you expecting a flip

or a switch or a change?

are you expecting me to eventually-

take a man's last name?


because church is not Jesus

just a representation of

and the church does not get

to tell me who to love,

that is a lesson i can only learn from above.

and He's never told me

i haven't heard hide or hair

of being broken or wrong

because of who i love.


i believe in community

i believe in the church

it's just i wouldn't want to be left in the lurch

if someday i find somebody i love

and the church says no simply because

this persons chromosomes aren't XY

they aren't a he

and if i get told i haven't allowed God to heal me

i know that that would be the last straw

i might leave the church that would be all


how am i supposed to show people that Jesus is love

if the church doesn't demonstrate all that He's made of


i could just switch churches but God's planted me here

given me family, but also the fear

that one day maybe not so far down the road

i wont be enough i'll be left in the cold.


i know that god loves me

but i want you to too

so i ask again, please answer with truth:


would you still love me

if i never changed

if our God never told me

i wasn't supposed to be this way?


would you still love me

if it was right in front of your face

if i brought a girl to church?

and i asked her to stay?




11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page