top of page
The Happiness Project : Blog2

Hindsights 20/20 : NEW DECADE, SAME ME

Updated: Mar 4, 2020

Hey ya'll! Welcome to the new decade! For the first time in a long time I am feeling like this New Year holds so much in it for me.


2019 tore me down and burned me pretty badly, but I'm realizing that it all happened for a reason. I learned so much last year about myself, about the world, about my friends, and life (and how to pretend to be an adult). It tore me down to my bones, and burned out all the things I didn't need anymore so that I could move forward to a fresh new start. The end of 2019 build a wonderful foundation for 2020, which is why I'm feeling so FREAKING READY for this New Year and all it holds-- after all you can't shake something with a firm foundation.


The end of 2019, as crazy as the world has been, actually rekindled a hope inside of me that I haven't had for a while. Things have been more good than bad recently, which is a change I wasn't expecting, but one that I could get used to!


So what have I been up to? Let's recap the last two months of 2019!


November:

unplug + reroot

My happiness project focus for November was reigniting my passion for reading & writing, while I was on a month long social media cleanse.


I think I might do a separate post about my 2019 book recommendations because I read so many AMAZING books this year, but November really allowed me to dive back into the book reading and it's something that really stuck with me. Even if you hate reading-- please let me pick out a book for you, I know I can find one you love just let me know.


This whole month was spent gearing up for my first professional show (which I will be adding photos of to the brand new MEDIA page of my website when I finish getting that set up!)


I started this blog and published my website, which were big 2019 goals for me.


I got excited about my job at TITLE Boxing Club, because God told me I needed to start behaving as if I had the job I was hoping for, so I embarked on membership engagement (community building) and started writing the members newsletter!


I started serving on the Kids Team at my Church!! Which was amazing because as many of you know I aspire to eventually be a teacher, and getting back into an educational space with children has been AMAZING!


December:

fitness fanatic


My goal for this month in the Happiness Project was to fall back in love with fitness. Being a dancer means I have a tenuous relationship with my body as well as with fitness, but I realized that I freaking love fitness and that I was annoyed that my body image issues and being afraid of falling back into the same harmful patterns were keeping me from what I loved...that made no sense to me!


SO I decided to dedicate a month to re-engaging my love for fitness, which while I obviously didn't hit every goal (especially since I got very sick and could barely get out of bed for a while), I definitely realized that it's much easier than I thought to get more engaged in my fitness life, and I am very excited to continue!


I had my first professional show in December with Meadows Dance Collective and my parents came to visit me in the most amazing city in the world- CHICAGO! It went very well in case you were wondering!


I went home to see my family for Christmas, took my cat on a plane (STRESSFUL) and realized for the first time in my life that I was excited to go back, that I actually had a home away from home!


Some BIG Things I learned from these two months:


1. No judgement, just consistency.


2. It still takes time, let it take that time. (GOSH DARN IT AM I IMPATIENT)


3. Let go of things that don't serve you. You can always pick them back up later.


My words for 2020, are LOVE & AMBITION.


I couldn't be more excited for the journey that I am on currently. Not everything is planned out (to the degree that that's true for a planner obsessed freak like me), but I know my passions, and I know it's time to apply myself to them.


"And blessed is she that believed; for there shall be a fulfillment of the things which have been spoken to her from the Lord."

Luke 1:45




61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page